Rachel Rachel Roy

I have to say, I’ve been a fan of Rachel Roy for the past 3-4 years or so. It was her Spring 2007 collection that really solidified her talent for me, particularly these two pieces:

In the words of Kelly Cutrone, I knew I’d be her “loyal bitch.” Roy’s classic look “with a twist” is always elegant and refined (which happens to be my personal style btw). I alway look forward to seeing what she will come up with next. Imagine my surprise when I learned that she would create a line with a lower price point. My first reaction was “yes!” But immediately, my next thought was “oy!” How many designers have created more budget friendly lines that have completely strayed away from the design aesthetic that we know and love? Oh, not Rachel. She did not sacrifice chic for cheap. Let me introduce you to these lovelies:

Roy’s twist on the classic trench

Dresses with interesting zipper details

Dresses with both flattering draping and structure

If you look at the pieces above, you can tell they are Rachel Roy’s. She adds the same elements that make her high end collection unique and stunning. She’s known for her day-to-evening clothes and her whimsical trenches, and this “junior” line doesn’t miss a beat. I know she mentioned that Rachel Rachel Roy line is the younger sister to her original eponymous collection. However, with just minor styling changes i.e. a chignon or black tights or pearls, these pieces could easily step out of the junior range.

I ordered one of the modal 24 hours dresses (no longer available online) and it is great. The print is eye-catching. It’s comfortable. It drapes really well. I’ve dressed it up with chunky jewelry and a suit jacket and dressed it down with leggings. It was money well spent. And while I hope to be able to own pieces from the Rachel Roy collection, the Rachel Rachel Roy collection is just as fabulous and will tide me over until them.

Please visit www.RachelRoy.com for the complete collection and place your order today!

Images: elle.com and rachelroy.com

This entry was posted in fashion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

